Inspired by ‘Invictus’

With the Dubai heat and humidity rocketing up now, I can always rely on watching movies indoors to keep me entertained when going out looks like a horrific idea. So last evening, when the weather was not tempting enough for anything outdoors, I surfed through my DVD collection and decided to watch the highly acclaimed ‘Invictus’ once again. I am a huge admirer of the great Nelson Mandela who recently has been in a critical condition.

Invictus, the movie tells the inspiring true story of Nelson Mandela, then South Africa’s newly elected president, uniting the post-apartheid nation as it prepares to host the 1995 Rugby World Cup. It’s a startlingly powerful film which manages to be both a study of power and a rousing sports movie. His humility, his leadership, his honesty as an individual comes across so beautifully in the film.

Invictus is a a clear-eyed look a recent history, an awe-inspiring tale of prejudice overcome.

Each time I watch this movie, it is a moving experience for me. Something about it makes me reflect into myself, makes me want to be a better person.

And I love this movie especially for introducing me to a very powerful and inspiring Victorian poem written by William Ernest Henley. ‘Invictus’ is a Latin word, meaning unbeaten, unconquered and unvanquished. The word and the poem have a very strong energy. Reading this poem when I am down, lifts my spirits up. ‘I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul’ – the line is the mantra of my life.

'Invictus' the poem

‘Invictus’ the poem

In case you haven’t, I strongly recommend you watch this one and I can assure you – you won’t be disappointed. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Inspired by ‘Invictus’

Leave a Reply

