Sanjeev Kapoor’s Khazana@Dubai fails to impress!

Khazana @ Oud Metha, Dubai

Khazana @ Oud Metha, Dubai

As belated celebrations of my birthday, me and my hubby A dotted on famous Indian Chef, Sanjeev Kapoor’s restaurant ‘Khazana’ in Oud Metha. Having grown up watching Sanjeev Kapoor’s popular cookery show ‘Khana Khazana’, I was quite sure of Khazana offering me a perfect place for a yummilicious birthday dinner and was looking forward to it. But I have to say that Khazana did a great job at ‘disappointing’ us and ruining my birthday dinner.

The ambience of the place is OK, not doing justice to the prices they charge for the food. The menu is interesting though for the ‘exotic names’ given to the dishes.

Anyways after placing our orders, we had to wait for almost half an hour for the starters to come. The drinks (mocktails) were freakingly expensive and not that great at all. The starters with the hara bhara kababs and Amritsari fish were cold, oily and again very average in taste.

And the biggest turn off for us was when for the main course, the waiter brought us ‘chipped off plates’. When we politely asked him to change those, he brought another set, which was chipped off again.

Giving up on the plates now, we still had some hopes on the main course with dal makhni, some panner kofta curry dish (the name was too exotic and the taste too crappy for me to remember) and naans.

And to add to our disappointment, the main course too turned out just average making me question the high prices they charge for the food.

And what cast a death spell for us for this restaurant for us was the manager (who bought us our bill) asking for a tip.

I guess Khazana is just trying to run by using Sanjeev Kapoor’s name which is it’s only USP but all in all, it’s an expensive place to eat very average food. I would never go there again as it was a spoiler for me and tasteless too. Though I am still a fan of Sanjeev Kapoor’s recipes, but I guess ‘khazana’ needs an intensive course in them.

My ratings – one star out of five!

PS : I was too disappointed with this place to click any pictures except a few of the ambience, which I took before being brought the chipped off plates.

Khazana rating

Leave a Reply

