The Red Lipstick and I

For the longest time, I avoided buying myself a Red lipstick. Honestly, I had no confidence to put on a Red lipstick. I had no courage to make a statement. No guesses, what my little vanity had was only neutral, plain, simple shades of lipsticks. Somewhere I felt comfortable behind that no-makeup, neutral face – comfortable because I was not saying – Hey! I am here. Look at me! … safe because I was not taking risk by putting a nobody face on.
But it was not a happy face either as I was hiding the real me inside, scared of how my face is gonna look if I chose that red lipstick which to be honest I always wanted to wear but was  afraid of looking ugly, felt I did not have a perfect face nor a perfect pout. Afraid of speaking my mind, I would not share my thoughts.
And when I thought deeply over it, I realised it was not just the choice of lipsticks, I was scared about taking any bold decisions in my life, be it the kind of baggy clothes I would wear or the boring finance job that I hated to the core.  I would not voice my opinions. I was not courageous enough to take a decision to change all of that. I was not feeling great enough about myself. I was not living enough.
And this realisation was just the start of every single thing that followed thereafter … great things because I let go of the feeling of ‘playing safe’ in my life. I may not have a ten on ten face or a sexy pout but I am perfect just the way I am and I deserve to make my choices, without being scared of what the world would think. I deserve to make choices that make ME happy – right or wrong, bold or not so bold as long as I make them with confidence. I deserve to voice my opinions – right or wrong … they are mine.
I gave up the finance job. I changed my wardrobe. I started writing a blog. I bought a Red lipstick.
 
Featured Lipstick – Rouge Pur Couture by YSL No. 01
ysl 1

One thought on “The Red Lipstick and I

  1. Hey Chandni you spoke my heart out in this article of yours…I can very well relate to myself about not choosing the perfect red color rather randomly choosing almost the same shades that I have been applying since long…yeah I was afraid of the very reason that how would it look on me…
    That bright change was just a pick away when my friend chose a red lipstick for me on a shopping spree…
    I was mesmerized with the glowing effect it had on me when I applied it for the first time and still mesmerising every time that I apply now…
    It’s you who put yourself into that comfortable shell and fear to experiment…
    But I say experiment, experience, love that change and surely you will benefit something…

    Like

Leave a comment